A Space & astronomy forum. SpaceBanter.com

Go Back   Home » SpaceBanter.com forum » Astronomy and Astrophysics » Amateur Astronomy
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Change in average global temperature from 1880 to 2014 - Nasa

Old September 15th 14, 10:50 PM posted to sci.astro.amateur
Uncarollo2
external usenet poster

Default Change in average global temperature from 1880 to 2014 - Nasa

Interesting chart:

http://data.giss.nasa.gov/gistemp/ta...LB.Ts+dSST.txt

Uncahotdog
Old September 15th 14, 11:28 PM posted to sci.astro.amateur
Uncarollo2
external usenet poster

On Monday, September 15, 2014 4:50:59 PM UTC-5, Uncarollo2 wrote:
Interesting chart:

Uncahotdog

Our scientifically illiterate politicians:

"I have flown twice over Mount St. Helens out on our West Coast. I'm not a scientist and I don't know the figures, but I have a suspicion that that one little mountain has probably released more sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere of the world than has been released in the last ten years of automobile driving or things of that kind that people are so concerned about."

- President Ronald Reagan, 1980

Not quite. Cars emit about 81,000 tons of sulfur dioxide per day, while Mount St. Helens emitted only about 2,000 tons.

Old September 15th 14, 11:30 PM posted to sci.astro.amateur
Uncarollo2
external usenet poster

On Monday, September 15, 2014 5:28:21 PM UTC-5, Uncarollo2 wrote:

Interesting chart:

Uncahotdog

"I have flown twice over Mount St. Helens out on our West Coast. I'm not a scientist and I don't know the figures, but I have a suspicion that that one little mountain has probably released more sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere of the world than has been released in the last ten years of automobile driving or things of that kind that people are so concerned about."

Not quite. Cars emit about 81,000 tons of sulfur dioxide per day, while Mount St. Helens emitted only about 2,000 tons.